The Electra Forums

Guitar Talk about Electra and other vintage imported guitars
Home
Index of Models
The Electra Forums
PM Inbox
It is currently Sun Oct 22, 2017 5:07 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Working man body?
PostPosted: Thu Mar 11, 2004 5:36 am 
Does anybody know what kind of wood the working man series bodies were made of?


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 11, 2004 5:34 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2002 6:02 am
Posts: 347
Location: California
The Working Man x280 and x290 have an Ash body.
Not sure if any other woods were also used.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 12, 2004 5:38 am 
REALLY :-? I'm in the middle of refinishing one, and the top seems to be jointed, out of various, (beautiful) woods.

(added later)

Ok, now that I did my homework, the electra page says it was ash body, finished in walnut, is walnut the color, or the wood top I see?


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 12, 2004 8:17 am 
The "Walnut" is most likely referring to the finish color, much like many of the Aria Pro II guitars.

Leia and I compared notes on our X270s via e-mail trying to determine how many slabs were used but I don't remember if we ever came to any conclusion. I felt the "butcher block" construction was aestetically appealing. Some folks claim solid piece bodies sustaing better, but my X270 would sustain for days, and that was one solid, tough workhorse guitar and probably could have weathered the worst of bar brawls and still stayed in tune. :lol:

Good luck with the re-finish!


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 12, 2004 8:43 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2002 4:00 pm
Posts: 180
Location: ontario, canada
hi guys...

as for the wood of the working man guitars, i have noticed a couple of different techniques of construction...... in most of the pictures i have seen of them on electramans site, they seem to be solid ash, although the body might be made up of several pieces... my working man however (like my X960 Ultimas), is what appears to be two slabs of mahogony sandwiched between ash caps :-?

Neal... wasn't yours all ash?

_________________
Live Better Electra-ly ;)
http://www.therathole.org/leia/visitors_axes/leia/leia.html


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 12, 2004 1:11 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2002 6:02 am
Posts: 347
Location: California
If you are doing a refin on the whole guitar you will find a
5 piece maple neck too. Add the findrosewood fingerboard and
you have a lot of nice wood there.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 12, 2004 3:00 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2002 4:00 pm
Posts: 180
Location: ontario, canada
since we are on the subject of the workingman, does anyone have a set of bridge screwposts for the bridge of a workingman?... the only ones available at my local music shop are a real sloppy fit for the brass workingman bridge

thanks

_________________
Live Better Electra-ly ;)
http://www.therathole.org/leia/visitors_axes/leia/leia.html


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 12, 2004 5:10 pm 
leia wrote:
Neal... wasn't yours all ash?


Are you kidding? I'm all Ash, head to toe! To be honest, it's been long enough I have forgotten. For some reason I was thinking it was all ash, but really don't remember.

It was brown. Does that help any? :P

:wink: :D


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 13, 2004 4:25 am 
Thanks everybody. Yeah it's got a nice butcher block to it, and the 5 piece maple neck is beautiful! But, they laid a thick grained veneer over the front of the headstock. I'm keeping it there. The factory probably grabbed any wood they could get, and sandwiched the best pieces they could use to make these bodies. Weren't the working man billed as being a 'less expensive electra', even more so than the other electras. It was definitley a no frills guitar. compared to the electronics available to the company.
Quote:
does anyone have a set of bridge screwposts for the bridge of a workingman

Do you need all four pieces, or just the two screws?, I've got a bridge pickup stamped '45' I'll get rid of. :D


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 13, 2004 5:47 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2002 4:00 pm
Posts: 180
Location: ontario, canada
hi lyddymusic

i am referring to the two screwposts that the bridge sits on... and i just need the screwposts themselves... i have the brass bridge... i just can't find the proper screwposts

thanks

_________________
Live Better Electra-ly ;)
http://www.therathole.org/leia/visitors_axes/leia/leia.html


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 13, 2004 7:36 am 
:-? Aw shucks. I didn't even get a rise out of Leia with that last razz. I guess I'll have to try harder. :)


Top
  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Fatal: Not able to open ./cache/data_global.php