The Electra Forums

Guitar Talk about Electra and other vintage imported guitars
Home
Index of Models
The Electra Forums
PM Inbox
It is currently Fri Oct 20, 2017 3:54 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2007 3:38 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 8:49 am
Posts: 70
Location: Austin TX USA
It's not grounded right. I switch to an Ibanez and all is quiet. The bridge pups were upgraded to Duncan SH6's and I know those aren't usually noisy.

Is there a wiring diagram for my axe? Any other possibilities I should look for?

Thanks in advance!

_________________
Peavey 5150 w/Bias mod
Custom 4x12 birch cab w/Celestion G12T-75's
Ibanez TS808 OD w/Monte Allums mod
ISP Decimator
Electra X260 Invicta
Ibanez RG320DXQM


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 14, 2007 1:01 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2004 12:17 am
Posts: 1903
Maybe the ground wire to the bridge got disconnected? Does it stop making noise when you touch the strings?

I don't know of a wiring diagram bout it ought to be fairly simple H-H wiring- volume and two tones, right?

Also, it's very probably someone got the color codes wrong. different makers use different codes. The original wiring was probably: white- signal hot; green- signal ground; red- coil tap (if any); silver- shield ground.

Can you provide a pic of the wiring compartment, or take a look and tell what color wires fromt he pickup go where? Meanwhile, look on the Duncan site and see what their wiring color codes are.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Fatal: Not able to open ./cache/data_global.php