The Electra Forums

Guitar Talk about Electra and other vintage imported guitars
Home
Index of Models
The Electra Forums
PM Inbox
It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 2:58 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jan 14, 2006 7:57 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 6:09 pm
Posts: 14
Location: Buffalo, NY
I am looking for a bridge saddle and tuner knob for my x270. I look at some of the links contained in the forum but no luck yet.....any suggestions are appreciated.

To those that have offer help so far...THANKS!!!!!!!! you are so helpful.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 14, 2006 8:42 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2004 12:17 am
Posts: 1903
closeup picsw would help... I'm not sure what other models might have had the same bridge.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: close up pics
PostPosted: Sat Jan 14, 2006 9:02 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 6:09 pm
Posts: 14
Location: Buffalo, NY
Here is a pic

Image

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2006 2:43 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2004 11:47 am
Posts: 1301
Location: Amarillo, Texas USA
Ouch!

Split down the neck - thru the pickup - and the body???!!!!!

RCSBlues :roll:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2006 3:02 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 6:09 pm
Posts: 14
Location: Buffalo, NY
Not a split....just the lone string left on the guitar from the old days....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2006 6:05 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2004 11:47 am
Posts: 1301
Location: Amarillo, Texas USA
Duh!

Do I feel like an idiot; (maybe I should have looked closer!);

Thanks for setting it straight!

RCSBLues :-?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2006 7:03 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 6:09 pm
Posts: 14
Location: Buffalo, NY
no problem...any advice on the rehab of this baby?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2006 12:07 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2004 12:17 am
Posts: 1903
well, it looks very much like a standard style (like a tune-o-matic on a Gibson), although most likely it's metric rather than english. I would look at the usual aftermarket suppliers, probably starting with Allparts since they do the best job of handling metric parts for imported guitars.

Or another way to go about it (probably better if possible) is to remove that bridge from its mounting posts and take it to your local independant guitar shop, one that has lots of spare parts, and see if they have something in the junk drawer that fits. Obviously you're looking for a physical fit for the saddle, and if possible to have it look the same, but what matters most is getting a screw that fits your threads- I myself would pull out one of the existing ones for a side-by-side comparison first, then if the threads look the same try screwing it into your bridge.

If all that fails you could try getting another bridge that fits your mounting posts, but I'd try to keep the original if at all possible, and i'll bet you can avoid it by finding another saddle that fits.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2006 8:13 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2003 4:58 am
Posts: 932
Location: Southern Indiana
I have an original bridge, and some replacements that I know will fit.

The original bridge has all the saddles but is missing an adjustment screw on one - but you can use yours. I would advise using the best saddles from either bridge as they wear. It is in good shape compared to most.

The replacement bridges are new pulls from guitars that I know will fit yours. They are essentially new. You will use the posts with the new bridge.

I wound up replacing some bridges with a tone pros bridge. Good bridge but high dollar.

Let me know. I will sell cheap + a little bit to cover shipping. If you don't want to that is fine too. I would just like to see that Electra up and working again. I am mainly interested in covering the postage and trip to the post office and not getting rich :-)

_________________
Thorny


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Saddles
PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2006 2:40 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2003 3:21 pm
Posts: 400
Location: Seattle, WA
Aloha! Nice guitar!

Another piece of advice, which is just my personal preference:

I've replaced all of the saddles on my Electras with GraphTech www.graphtech.com graphite saddles. Without exception, the saddles have been the most damaged components of every Electra I've ever come across, with tuning machines a close second. The GraphTechs make it nearly impossible to break a string, sound great, and can be made to fit nearly any bridge screw (they're softer than the screw, so you can force them on; it's a nice tight fit, stays exactly where you leave it and everybody's happy). They're not very expensive, especially when you factor in the money you'll save once your saddles aren't eating your strings.

There are some stock purists here who have different ways of repairing the old saddles and making that work out, which makes perfect sense in its own right, but I've been sold on the GT's for about 10 years now. Those and locking tuners are the first things I switch out on any guitar I'm set on keeping around.

While I'm at it, I recommend GraphitAll www.texasguitarwhiz.com/graphitall.htm graphite gel to lubricate the nut. I've tried a lot of different things and that's my favorite by far. Of course, you could just put a GraphTech nut in instead, but I think there's something kind of charming about the old brass nuts. Other players look at them and just have to ask what's going on there... Plus, a little tube of gel is a lot cheaper!

Good luck!

M


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 11, 2006 5:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2006 5:19 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Dixie
I have been looking for replacement saddles and screws for my Omega for two years with no luck. I have the Gotoh bridge on mine for now, but I would love to get the correct parts back on her.

_________________
Rush rules! (the band not the fat guy)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 12, 2006 1:35 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2004 12:17 am
Posts: 1903
if we can determine what bridge the Omega had originally, we could probably find the same bridge, it was most likely used for other brands such as Aria Pro.

Any Omega owners out there? We want to know what letters are cast on the underside of the bridge.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 12, 2006 11:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2006 5:19 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Dixie
I'll check it tonight, but I think it just says "Made in Japan".

_________________
Rush rules! (the band not the fat guy)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 12, 2006 3:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2006 5:19 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Dixie
Yes, my Omega's original bridge says "MADE IN JAPAN", that's all on the underside.

_________________
Rush rules! (the band not the fat guy)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 12, 2006 4:53 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2004 12:17 am
Posts: 1903
and in all caps i presume, just like you wrote it.

OK, what I would suggest is that SOF cruise ebay with search for "bridge" +"made in japan"

my guess is that there's probably someone out there who has one and doesnt' know what it's from.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Fatal: Not able to open ./cache/data_global.php