The Electra Forums
http://www.rivercityamps.com/electraforum/

Vantage VS 696-12
http://www.rivercityamps.com/electraforum/viewtopic.php?f=40&t=8235
Page 1 of 1

Author:  corsair [ Sat Dec 19, 2015 1:44 am ]
Post subject:  Vantage VS 696-12

Well, gang... after all these years, I finally own a Matsumoku electric 12, and I am a very happy bunny...

..... I'll take some pool shots tomorrow!!

Image

...on the bench for a fettle. It needed strings and set up for my playing style. Also needed a new 3 way as the OEM is broken, possibly by the case fitting too tightly?!

Image

New switch in, still has the white tip. Since changed to a chrome black one.

Image

Lots of tuners on there, eh!! I'm going to do a VA912 on this baby and put tulip buttons on the octave string tuners...

Image

The controls needed a squirt of contact cleaner...

Image

Image

Lo-o-ong tailpiece bolts!!

Image

For the most part, done! Gee, this thing is pretty... and loud!! Those pickups are as punchy as; just glorious!

More anon...

... if anyone's interested?!

Author:  mortarman120gang11c [ Sat Dec 19, 2015 8:34 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Vantage VS 696-12

:hyper: That's to cool and bet it plays great as well. Congratulations
:up:

Author:  yyzrondo [ Sun Dec 20, 2015 5:55 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Vantage VS 696-12

Looks sweet John!

Author:  Thorny [ Sun Dec 20, 2015 5:35 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Vantage VS 696-12

That thing is gorgeous! Wonderful!

Congrats!

Author:  JackBaruth [ Tue Dec 22, 2015 8:02 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Vantage VS 696-12

Just brilliant.

Author:  The Chad [ Tue Dec 22, 2015 12:21 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Vantage VS 696-12

Why won't they do that today, a decent priced excellent quality guitar.

Though Korea is getting very, very good at making guitars. Not quite the old Japan, but getting close!

Author:  corsair [ Tue Dec 22, 2015 1:01 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Vantage VS 696-12

My Korean Westones are pretty darn good - let down a little by slightly weak and bland pickups - and they're from the 80s so I can only imagine they've got better over the intervening years, eh!!

The Chinese and Indonesians will only get better and in fact, my stage acoustic was - and still is! - a Samick from Indonesia which was as expensive as a Takamine top of the line at the time!

But yeah; the Japanese Vantages really are flying under the radar - this 12 is just bee-yoo-tee-ful to look at, and wonderful to play; I'm sure all who've played an electric 12 know the feeling of sitting on an open Gsus4 with the volume way up, hearing the thing just sing!! :hyper: And they were never a truly expensive guitar; this model wasn't the cheapest by a long shot, but it certainly didn't require a mortgage to buy one, as opposed to a Fen/son 12!!

I will say, too, that the string courses are very close for my clumsy fingers especially at the nut and will require some extra practice to avoid the clonky notes.... not too sure if finger-picking is an option, either!!! :lol:

Author:  slmguy [ Sat Jan 02, 2016 8:38 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Vantage VS 696-12

Looks great John, those darn things just wash up on the beach or what? Cant find anything that good looking around here. And yes, I am ready for some December Pool shots from down under to warm me up! I'll be waiting. Does that 12 have a brass nut on it? Love that style of light and dark on the body. I've gotten out bid each time I try to score one of any make or model, they seem to always go for more around here. And three ways and cases have been a problem on my last 3 guitars. They were packed quit well but the plastic switch tips were cracked or broken off, being 30+ years old probably didnt help. Great guitar John. :up: :up: :love:

Author:  corsair [ Tue Jan 19, 2016 10:31 pm ]
Post subject:  Pool shots!!

Yep; brass nut.

Image

Image

Translucent black finish...

Image

Image

... and my inside rack...

Image

... plus the strat and the Bougainville Avenger on the walls!!

Yummy!!

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 8 hours
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/
Fatal: Not able to open ./cache/data_global.php