The Electra Forums

Guitar Talk about Electra and other vintage imported guitars
Home
Index of Models
The Electra Forums
PM Inbox
It is currently Wed Oct 18, 2017 6:14 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jul 06, 2011 4:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2009 2:29 pm
Posts: 76
Location: Seattle, WA
My drummer and I are going to see Phish at the Gorge later this summer and are planning to camp in the general camping area. We were thinking it would be fun to play a set or two right there in the camping area.

My buddy owns an organic-based landscaping company and his truck is rigged with a solar panel and heavy duty batteries to power his equipment (no gas-burning equipment). We did a test run last weekend and everything seemed to work ok, although there seemed to be a lot of noise in the system.

All of our equipment will be plugged into a filtered surge protector power strip plugged into the power inverter on his solar system. The rest of our set up includes:

1) Electronic drum kit (acoustic kit is WAY too big for this setting).
2) Bass amp (for drum kit).
3) 5W Vox guitar amp (power attenuator down to 1/4W).
4) Pedalboard.
5) EON powered PA.

Is there any way we would damage our equipment by drawing power from his solar system?

Thanks All!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 06, 2011 6:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2010 1:50 pm
Posts: 1569
Location: New Jersey
I'm no electrician but I think too much power is more likely to cause damage. 110V is 110V - too little power and chances are you wouldn't be able to run anything. Is that Vox amp one of the ones you can run off D cells? I know a bunch of pedals on a wall wart could be dicey. I'd use 9v's for them.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 8:31 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2008 5:52 am
Posts: 1924
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan
Your buddy has his own Solar System? Kidding aside, this sounds like a lot of fun, good luck man! The JBL probably draws the most current from your list, and I love those self contained EON's (I have five of them, two 15" Mains, three 10" Monitors). You won't damage your equipment (famous last words...), especially if you're running it through a surge/conditioner strip, but I'm assuming if you draw too much power it might hurt the solar power system, but that's just conjecture on my part, your buddy probably knows a lot more since he put it together. You may want to test it to the limits before you take the trip, and see how the solar power behaves when its being overdrawn... and then again maybe you don't want to tempt fate. Enjoy, Mike.

_________________
Electra Guitar Videos ===> http://www.youtube.com/user/mjm33mjm?feature=watch


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2011 7:37 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 9:32 am
Posts: 1024
Location: NYC
Actually having too little power can make equipment run hot. That said it it can run electric motors for lawn work, I would think it should have the capabilities for your system


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 15, 2011 2:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 2:08 pm
Posts: 312
Location: Nashville, TN
I was at the Fat Tire Festival last weekend here in Nashville (New Belgium Brewery) and they had a stage that was solar powered. They had a large truck with solar panels on top. It was pretty neat.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2011 10:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2009 2:29 pm
Posts: 76
Location: Seattle, WA
Thank you for all the great input... I really appreciate the feedback and info!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Fatal: Not able to open ./cache/data_global.php