The Electra Forums

Guitar Talk about Electra and other vintage imported guitars
Home
Index of Models
The Electra Forums
PM Inbox
It is currently Sat Oct 21, 2017 11:56 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Sep 11, 2011 6:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2011 5:57 am
Posts: 5
hello, im new here, i have a electra x120 i bought new in 1980, it wont play throuhg the amp, also may need the mpc boxes repaired, im in wellston ohio, 45692, my phone is 740-384-2609- my name is Greg, thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2011 4:19 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2010 1:50 pm
Posts: 1569
Location: New Jersey
Hey Greg welcome to the forum. With your X120 - do you get any sound at all out of it? You need to eliminate other possibilities like a bad cord or bad amp too. If you know the amp and cables are good, you most likely would have faulty wiring somewhere in the guitar - most likely your input jack.

The wiring itself on an X120 should not be particularly difficult. MPC module issues are another story as they have their own circuit boards inside and any number of componenets could go bad - likewise, pickups can also go bad and need re-winding.

None of these issues are insurmountable and it is absolutely worthwhile to get the guitar back in working order. My advice would be to verify your amp and cables are good, then, if you still have no sound, take a look in your control cavities for any disconnected wires. I strongly suspect either the input jack or your pickup selector switch. If you find any loose wires you should be able to see where they used to belong and it's fast and easy to re-solder. I bet you'll find your wiring issue very quickly. Good luck.
Jay


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2011 5:25 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 7:10 pm
Posts: 3015
Location: Tifton, Ga USA
Also since this is an MPC model check the battery connector in the MPC cavity. You should still have some sound even if the battery is not installed so long as the MPC switches are in the off position. If no battery and switches are on you will not get any sound output at all. I agree that the input jack would be best palce to start as it is eay to check. Good luck and let us see some pics. We always love to see any Electra models here. Welcome to the Forums. Arthur aka mortarman120gang11c :up:

_________________
Always give thanks for everyday, It may be your last so Rock On Semper Fi!!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 14, 2011 7:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2009 1:50 pm
Posts: 431
Location: Saint Louis
There should be a setting with both MPC switches in the bypass position which will allow the normal guitar signal to work. If not, you have what is probably a simple wiring problem.

- Remove the battery and both MPC modules.
- Set all control knob to 10.
- Set both MPC switches to bypass.
- Connect to a known working guitar amp using a known working guitar cable.
- Strum the guitar while switching the pickup selector.
- Also move the control knobs around somewhat, in case they are intermittent.

If you don't hear anything at all, there is probably a broken wire or output jack. A good guitar repair shop should be able to fix this if you don't have wiring skills.

Once you get normal guitar signal, THEN you can test the MPC modules.

Report back here with the results, we may have further help for you depending upon what you find.

By the way, if you are interested in selling your X120, please let me know.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 17, 2011 4:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2011 5:57 am
Posts: 5
:hyper: sell my x120!!!!!!!!! never, thanks for the reply, when i get the free time i will check into it, thanks ,Greg


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 17, 2011 4:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2011 5:57 am
Posts: 5
my other guitar works with the same cord and amp ,my son also tryed it on his, thanks for all the replys, will let you know how it goes and will post a pic of my guitar, thanks,Greg


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 25, 2012 6:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2011 5:57 am
Posts: 5
all it needed was awire solder repair, thanks everyone, i will try to get a photo on here if i can make it work,https://sphotos-b.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ash4/228573_340509829375139_1947060965_n.jpg


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 26, 2012 7:14 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2004 11:47 am
Posts: 1291
Location: Amarillo, Texas USA
How's this?

I posted it for you.

Image

_________________
RCSBlues
Image
Image :up:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 27, 2012 5:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2011 5:57 am
Posts: 5
thank you


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Fatal: Not able to open ./cache/data_global.php